Haydon Burrows receives a football award.
Haydon Burrows receives a football award.
On Wednesday, April 21, PCHS hosted awards night in the auditorium. 

As a sign of the times, the athletes pumped sanitizer on their hands after each handshake. 

However, last year’s ceremony was virtual, so people felt lucky to gather on the stage.

 JV volleyball coach Nancy Meissner recognized Katie Moore as her most improved player. She named Anna Happy MVP.

Varsity volleyball coach Monica Halverson gave her Heart and Hustle Award to Aledda Sam. Cheyeanne Diaz won the Coach’s Award. Presley Burrows earned the Mustang Award.

As for the 2A, Kaylen Halverson and Kaydance Happy received Honorable Mentions. Sam and Diaz made the 2nd Team. Burrows is the 2A League MVP. 

For soccer, Rylee Renfroe made the 2nd Team. Kylee Fuller and Connie Kersnowski are on the 1st team. Coach Matt Fuller presented the honors.

In JV football, Coach Dan Murphy handed the Offensive Coach’s Award to Noel Zaldivar. Wyatt Diaz won the Defensive Coach’s Award.

In varsity football, Coach Mike Brooks gave out the following awards: Mariano Gomez (Honorable Mention, Running Back), Louis Jimenez (Honorable Mention, OL), Devin Moura (Honorable Mention, Defensive Back), Zeke Jackson (Honorable Mention, Defensive Back)

Jesse Gonzalez (1st Team, Running Back, 1st Team Defensive Back, 1st Team Kick Returner), Nik Pavlov (2nd Team DL, 2nd Team Tight End), Logan Oberman (2nd team OL, 2nd team DL), Guti Lopez (1st team Defensive Back)

Colton Wanner (Honorable Mention Running Back, 1st Team Linebacker), Diego Gonzalez (1st Team Kicker), Jordan Gentry (1st Team OL, 1st Team DL), Haydon Burrows (Honorable Mention Running Back, League Defensive Player of the Year).

Daniel Reitz is the Lineman of the Year. Raul Rincon is the 2A North Player of the Year. Diego Gonzalez won the Cody Gibson Memorial Award. The football team finished the season undefeated, 6-0.

Cece Hanley brought the 2021 spirit squad on the stage. They included Marya Burke, Kaylah Hanley, Jena Pilon, Julia Steele, Danya Zepeda and Maya Renfroe.

In closing, Brooks recognized Dan Murphy for 17 years of service. Murphy retires from coaching after the season. He walked off with an autographed football and a bobble-headed figurine.